Thursday, February 4, 2010

Can I see your ID please?

And so... here goes my first blog. Let me begin with a little background information so that you may better understand: I am 23 years old and the Assistant Manager at a very popular gas station. Do not get me wrong, I did not grow up dreaming of being the best cashier in the world, but as life goes, it just kind of happened :)

Everyday we [cashiers] encounter more customers than anyone could imagine. We make more coffee in one day than most people drink in a year. We are held accountable for every single person who is pumping gas while we are trying to wait on a never-ending line of customers. Not to mention, this is not all we do. Everyday there is a ton of paperwork. Everyday there are prices that need to be changed. Everyday there are vendors who need to be checked in. Everyday there is a list of things that never gets done. We [cashiers] work hard. Recognize.

In the midst of all this, we must make sure that we are carding every single customer who wants tobacco and looks UNDER 40. So, we are terribly sorry and sincerely apologize to those people who come in and look like they are 12 who get carded.

Them -"Can I get Marb Red's in a box?"
Me - " Can I see your ID please?"
Them - "Are you kidding? I'm like 19. Ugg. Don't I look old enough?"
Me - "Uh, no, you look like you're 12."

And then, you get customers who look 18, but not 40. You would think as ADULTS they would be mature enough to just get out their ID and be cooperative. Most of the time they do, but every now and then one of them turns into a raging lunatic over having to pull a piece of plastic out of their wallet. These people are the worst. I personally cannot imagine acting like this in public. I just keep thinking, What would my mother say? These are the people who are in a store full of people, including children and they think that by calling me names, and swearing at me, that I am more likely to just sell them a pack of cigarettes. HELL NO>>> for future reference, all this does is either piss us off or give us something to laugh about later.

It is at this point that they either 1) give us their ID or 2) flip us off and walk out swearing.

Either way, I respectfully choose this time to take my cigarette break so I can rub it in that I could care less if they get their cigarettes, because I know I have mine :)

No comments:

Post a Comment